MIDI Glue LUA script (MIDI join)

MIDI_Glue_icon MIDI Glue (Only for Ardour 7) (Not for Adour 6.9)

Hello everybody!

Let me introduce my first LUA script “MIDI Glue”, that “glues” midi regions in “G”-mode.

Here you can download the script and read installation information:

In outline this script expands Ardour’s possibilities (increases speed) to Consolidate MIDI regions.

Standard workflow requires switching from mode “G” to mode “R” or to run a command Set Range to Selected Regions, then from context menu run the command Consolidate.

The script - if you’ll make some assignments (described in the Installation in GitHub) - lets you just select the desired region/regions and simply press Alt+G & Enter combination - and you’ll get the “glued” MIDI:
MIDI_Glue_Use

PS: This is my first attempt to make a usable thing in GitHub - any advises&notes from skilled devs are welcome!! Good luck!
Thanks to:
@BenLoftis
@x42
@johndev

EDIT: Few conditionals for correct gluing ALL the midi notes:

1. All the layers must be transparent (not opaque) (Alt+0):

2. For default transparent new region drawing - Session Properties>MIDI Options>Draw tool creates opaque MIDI regions - must be unchecked:

1. For default transparent new region recording - the “Rec:” drop-down (just right of the transport controls) - must be Snd on Snd:
    Snd on Snd
9 Likes

Thank you, very much needed script.

1 Like

Such a small thing and so much needed. Thank you

1 Like

If it is possible to remember, change and restore the value of preferences, it could be glued automatically

Hello, first, congratulations! Since you asked for tips about distributing a project from a repository (in this case, Github), here is one: even if the script specifies a license in its header (MIT) and that’s already fine for most purposes, generally it’s good practice to include a LICENSE file in the repo containing the body of the (MIT, in this case) license.

1 Like

Do you mean this dialog:
consolidate_dialog