Noob question about cd authoring

Hey everybody. I’m new to Ardour5, but not new to daws. Studio One has been my workhorse for years, many others for many years before that.

So far, Ardour feels really awesome. Second only to Studio One for intuitiveness for me, and way ahead of any others, which is why I want to dig in and get good at it.

My first project to get my feet wet is a cd authoring thing. I have an hour long concert that I’d like to put track markers/IDs in place, and then export the songs as individual aiffs, so I can burn the cd in Toast or itunes.

Are there any tutorials bouncing around for this specific thing? Couldn’t find any on YT.

Playing around with the software, I sorta figured out location markers and range markers. Well, I know how to create them. I don’t know exactly what they do quite yet. But there’s no menu item for cd markers, even though there’s a lane for them up top. Maybe there’s some way to convert location or range markers to cd markers? Range markers sort of suggests that maybe I’ll need to dictate that certain songs are ranges to be exported, as is somewhat standard operation in many daws.

Anybody care to point me in the right direction or give me some tips?

All the rest I’ll figure out later. I just wanna get this first thing first.

Thanks.

Super cool. Thanks for the help bachstudies.

Using your instructions, I made some progress last night. Although I’m already running into a bunch of stuff that needs to be sorted for me to do this how I want to do this.-

(Questions not directed specifically to you, bachstudies. General questions, hopefully somebody can help me out)

Can I not zoom to sample level as in Ocenaudio or Soundforge or Audition or a thousand others?

There are a whole boatload of snapping preferences, but not the only one I need, ‘snap to playhead’?

Can I set it to slice at the playhead, not at the cursor?

Why can I not convert the first range markers (the first song) to cd markers?