Vol Input control

Completely aggravated.
I see no way to control the input vol going into Ardour.

I am using a guitar going into an M-Audio Air 192/4 interface, which connects obviously into the PC. From there, into Guitarix, through Jack and into Ardour.

Just so you don’t ask me, I am using an HP with 12 gigs of memory and a Gen 12 i5 processor. All my gear is new. I am running on Debian 11 (Bullseye).

I get either, a completely blown up input signal, (Clip City), or after hours of fucking around with both the M-Audio device and Guitarix, a completely tamed down almost unprocessed plasticy sounding recorded signal, that is still visually very large in Ardour, but less clipping.

I tried running the guitar through a small mixer to control the sound input before going into the M-Audio interface, but almost no sound.

WTF.

I have been using Linux since 2005.
I set up a Linux recording rig on Ubuntu Studio in 2010. It was broken right “Out of the Box”, and did not work until I inserted a code patch I found in the forums.
Spent 2 months on a recording, not happy with the final result, and shit canned the whole system. Back to Windows, which I HATE.

Free and a boatload of aggravation vs Throw money at it and have it work.
I hate proprietary software, and wish this Linux stuff was just a little more intuitive.

Is there a volume input adjustment somewhere on Ardour?
I don’t see one.
Is it hidden?
If so…
Why?
Why would it be hidden?

If there is no input vol control, then why not?
WTF…

I was going to spend the $1000. and get another computer just for Linux recording, but wanted to work the bugs out now before dropping a grand.

Bullshit like this is what really pisses me off with Linux.
They make a fucking research project out of a simple issue.

What is everybody else doing to control the input signal into Ardour, without cutting the amp sim processing from Guitarix?

WTF…