Push for LV2 on KVR

Hi all,

There is currently a discussion on KVR between VST developers, angered by Steinberg’s recent VST2/VST3 license changes, who are seriously discussing opting for an open plug-in standard, either new or LV2 (Mixbus was named as a LV2 compatible host). Among these developers, some well-known names like U-he, discoDSP, Tone2, Auburn Sounds, etc.

As a musician, I feel like opting for LV2, even if it means improving it, rather than inventing a new standard would serve the community better.

Perhaps the Ardour team will be interested in weighing in?

Well this is a kick in the nuts: VST2 plug-ins - DSP and Plug-in Development Forum - KVR Audio

2 Likes

Ardour already supports LV2, VST2 and VST3, so everyone’s covered aren’t they? As a musician, you can opt for what you want - as a plug-in developer I think “Yet another new plug-in SDK ™” is exactly what is not required - especially given that the VST3 license is much more amenable to Linux / open source, and the issue with VST2 is, AFAIK old news?
From a (commercial) independent developer’s perspective I see it like this - another new format makes people less likely to buy a plug-in unless it supports the new format - even if they don’t need it to (because future proofing, perceived value add etc). At the same time each new format adds exponentially to the amount of testing, hardware required, debugging and development resources etc, and requires many man-hours of development, often for no reward because by definition a new format won’t initially be widely supported by host applications, but, as mentioned, no one will buy a plug-in until it supports the new format. (I believe this could in part be the reason there was relatively cautious uptake of VST3 in the first place…)

English is not my first language and I misspoke. Let me rephrase it: