Polishing “Audio/MIDI Setup” window and latency calibration best practices

Hello, I think this is my first message in this forum, despite I dayly follow it and Ardour development. So I will introduce myself: I am Agus Terol from Alicante, Spain, and I have been using Ardour (as amateur/hobbyist musician) for several years now. I would say that from the 2.x series times.

First of all, I would like to thank all the developers their work and effort along these years, and congratulate them for all the success and achieved goals.

Recently, I have been focused on testing Ardour 6’s “Audio/MIDI Setup” window in order to find bugs and provide some feedback about its workflow. I am very excited about the complete latency compensation feature that Ardour 6 brings, and I know it has taken a long time to implement it. Also, in my opinion, if users do not proper calibrate the audio and MIDI devices, this feature could not work properly. That is the reason I am commenting here the need of polish that window, so that the users can receive better feedback about what Ardour is doing, and have a better experience, since this window appears after launching Ardour and opening/creating a session.

At the moment I have reported 6 issues (bugs and features/improvements). Please, ignore #8052 because I thought it was not created after being blocked for a while by the bug tracker.

• #8048 After calibrating MIDI, audio calibration might be required again
  • #8049 “Audio/MIDI Setup” window does not wait until the user really wants to let Ardour load the current session after calibrating audio
  • #8050 Add a “Cancel” and/or “Back” button in the “Audio/MIDI Setup” window
  • #8051 Add a “Refresh devices” button in “Audio/MIDI Setup” window
  • #8053 A MIDI device connected after opening “Audio/MIDI Setup” window appears when calibrating another MIDI device
  • #8054 MIDI calibration does not produce expected results like Audio calibration does