Pitch correction

Hi all,

sorry, I am newbie here…
please, how can I change the intonation of a note a litle out of tune?

I run Ardour 4.7 in PCLinuxOS.

Thanks.

Hi @Aleph. What kind of instrument is in the recording? Is this a single note or the whole chord? If it comes to chord, I’m afraid you can’t do much in Ardour, but a single note could be tuned a bit with some help of rubberband or different pitch shifting plugin.

Hi ototto,

is a single note, a flute, the intonation is going down a bit when doing a diminuendo in a long note.

Ardour can change the pitch of a region, but it can’t deal with a note that is slowly drifting off pitch.
Try the free zita-at1 plugin which does pitch correction. If that doesn’t produce good enough results you might need something llike Melodyne: proprietary, not cheap, and Windows only, but allegedly can be run in Wine (and certainly runs nicely for me ina Windows XP VM)

Thanks anahata

What a pity… Well I will try zita-at1. But, sorry for my ignorance: How can I add/install this plugin to Ardour 4.7 in PCLinusOS.

The file is a *.tar.bz2

http://kokkinizita.linuxaudio.org/linuxaudio/downloads/

It isn’t a plugin.

Then how to use it?

It’s a Jack application, so you can patch it in as an insert.
See this thread: https://community.ardour.org/node/7173

There is the autotalent plugin, but I don’t know of its current status. I don’t think it will help here. You are really looking for Melodyne-like editing, which is the result of some extremely intensive and brilliant development in a proprietary context. A few other DAWs offer something similar, but certainly not all.

Ardour has a good tool for increase or decrease the volume drawing points, it would be fantastic to change the intonation with a similar tool…

Hey Aleph, personally I use the “Rubber Band Pitch Shifter” plugin by BreakfastQuay and automate the pitch change.