Looking for best practices when installing libraries for build

My Story:
In preparation for my eventual retirement, I have started taking music theory lessons, bought a keyboard, and eventually found Ardour. I am jazzed about Linux and Ardour, and have been an open source advocate for many years, and eventually see myself as a contributor to Ardour. Recently, I built myself a tower with the Linux Mint client on it, and am hoping to be able to do EVERYTHING on it (I have found mint to be the least frustrating for this nube, thus far). Currently, I am a web developer (rails) working on a mac, and deploying to Centos, so it shouldnā€™t be a big deal learning to be a contributor.

What I would like help on:
I think I am missing a few basic things. I was hoping that someone could give me a pointer to a developers guide, and/or some help on my questions below:

Questions:

• When a library is missing from the ā€˜waf configureā€™, how do I know how and where to get it? For example I tried apt install alsa, then apt search alsa, and then tried installing alsa-base and alsa-source to no avail (no alsa). I found a topic (Ubuntu user seeks help building this software - accepting any he can get), installed as many as I could, and that magicallyā€™ apt configureā€™ no longer says alsa is missing. As I continue with the ā€˜waf configureā€™, I am randomly installing packages that look like they would solve the problem, especially if they end in -dev, however, I canā€™t imagine that being a generally good approach. Any advice?