(I'm a noob) no sound/playback - linux

Sorry in advanced for how vague this is going to sound.

I just installed ardour 5.12.0 on ubuntu 18.04.1 and can’t seem to get any sound out of ardour at all. I made one project where I recorded midi from my keyboard and one where I imported a wav file.

Both projects have levels coming out of master but no sound out of the machine (I have other applications playing music, not sure if that interferes with the software though).

There doesn’t seem to be anything to connect master out to…

I’m new to linux so has anyone had a similar issue setting up ardour? Should I try getting JACK working instead of ALSA? Is there any sort of driver set-up required before I can hear playback?

Thanks in advanced.

Sooner or later you’ll probably need JACK, so why not start messing with it right now.
https://libremusicproduction.com/articles/demystifying-jack-–-beginners-guide-getting-started-jack

1 Like

@roithamer Yeah after reading through some forums I think that might be a good idea, cheers.

Also an update for anyone interested, here is the killer error message:

ALSA: Cannot open device ‘hw:PCH,0’: Device or resource busy

Also if you are new to linux audio stuff, it is really good idea to start with some dedicated distro (kx studio, ubuntu studio, avl linux etc). Everything is setup and you can just learn basic things without tons of frustration.

1 Like

That means another application has the device open. Ardour requires exclusive access to the device.
First, make sure you are opening the device you want to use. The “PCH” device refers to the term Intel uses for the motherboard chipset controller, i.e. built-in sound. Is that what you want to use? If you have a USB interface or some other audio interface pull down the selection at input device and output device and select which device you want to use.