I want to be part of it

hello everyone, hello developers,

I am a professional music producer and an amateur programmer. I can program in Assembly and C, although I am more comfortable with Asm at the moment.

I think Ardour is a fantastic project, congratulations to Paul and his co-developers.

I don’t know exactly how, but I wished to contribute to the project. With the Corona thing, I intent to give the code some nice study and taste the waters.

The thing is, I’m on Windows and I’ve read that compiling it on Win is a big hassle. Should I set up a Linux box for this? Or should I be fine compiling it with Visual Studio?

regards Alex

1 Like

Hi Alex,

Thanks for you interest and enthusiasm.

For which CPU architecture do you write asm? Intel? Arm?

Most of Ardour is C++, since Ardour runs on many different CPU architectures (ARM 32/64, PPC 32/64, SPARC, …) there is very little, and only optional asm code in Ardour’s codebase.

Since I have no first hand experience with Windows, I cannot answer this question.

@John_E compiles Ardour with MSVC and maintains Ardour’s MSVC project, he also maintains MSVC projects of some of the built dependencies on his github account.

We use mingw to cross-compiler Ardour windows binaries on GNU/Linux.
I hazard a guess that getting started with Linux will be a lot faster. It could be under 20 mins to install Debian or Ubuntu in a Virtual Machine and get going:

sudo apt-get build-dep ardour
git clone https://github.com/Ardour/ardour.git
cd ardour
./waf configure --strict --cxx11 --with-backends=jack,alsa,pulseaudio,dummy
./waf

done. Run from source-tree without install as cd gtk2_ardour; ./ardev

PS. most devs are online on #ardour IRC.

1 Like

Hi Robin,

For which CPU architecture do you write asm? Intel? Arm?

I write Asm for Intel architeture. I’m fluent in Masm, but used in fact UASM, which has the Masm syntax. As far as I know, UASM builds to Linux too. I am going to check this, never tried anything related to Linux.