How to install ardour 5

i just downloaded ardour 5.4.0 64, i am running ubuntu 16.04 the file downloaded into my downloads file, it wan’ts to open in (gedit) i don,t know what gedit is and the file extension is .run…whats going on?

https://ardour.org/first_time_linux.html

Seablade

The terminal just stays still. Here is what I get, http://i.imgur.com/SKUv0ZP.png

Without parentheses

I did put in the parenthesis, check the screenshot

Thanks telover, just needed to remove the <,> signs.

I just downloaded Ardour 5.6 and followed the install instructions on https://ardour.org/first_time_linux.html. I get “permission denied” when I try to run the file. I’m new to linux and I’m new to having to use a terminal to initiate an executable. Why is that even necessary! Help.
linux Mint 17. Strangely in the linux mint software center there is an Ardour version 1.4.6 that downloads fine, without the terminal. Ugh

The instructions in the first time linux do actually explain this:

Because Linux is a secure operating system in general, files you download are not automatically runnable as programs.

You are apparently not following the instructions, which tell you to run the command inside a shell: /bin/sh ./<DOWNLOADED_FILENAME>.run

The “permission denied” message occurs when you try to run the file directly, which Linux (and other sane Unix-based operating systems) will deny for security reasons.

Ok, I’ll try to “run the command inside a shell”. I suppose the understanding of shells and bins and UNIX syntax is supposed to come to us non-programmers in a dream we missed. :0
Thanks for the quick response.