Could we have a clip list for radio montage/podcast-production?

One thing I really wished Ardour could have to optimize it for podcaster-use, is a clip-list.
Like one can have in Pro Tools or in Hindenburg - a panel on the right side of the screen, where I can “ctrl + drag” any clips to - maybe even import files straight into, and rename them.
That would be a massive improvement for someone like me: a podcaster that makes bigger montage/reportages with a lot of tape to navigate. But I’d imagine it’d be for others too, since Avid put it in their awfully proprietary machine. (I dopn’t own it, just wanted to see what it could do that ardour couldn’t. The clip-list was the only feature I found to be really worthwile).

Can anybody relate to this for a feature-request?
And if so, do you know how to make it an official request? (I’ve no knowledge of bug-tracker/feature requests).

Thank you in advance for any response! Also any viable workarounds, other than moving everything far off to the right of the screen and pick it back, are welcome :slight_smile:

Update - I managed to make a feature request, I think.
But would still love to hear from anyone else with thoughts on the subject.

The source list seems to be kind of like this: it lists all the files that you’ve imported to your session, whether you’ve used them or not, and you can either drag them into your timeline or select the one you want and type “i” to insert it. I think of it as a clip library that I can pull from as needed.

Go to “View” and choose “Show Editor List” and then look for the “Sources” tab.

When you import files, one of the options is to import it to the source list rather than to a specific track.

1 Like

Thanks for the tip! - I just checked it out, and while this indeed is a good beginning, and even placed in the right place (UI-wise) the “Sources List” method misses two key features for me: