Compile Ardour 7.1.0 - Debian 11 x86_64 - VST3

[READ: *This is not an official guide how to compile Ardour 7.1.0 with VST3 support on a Debian 11 x86_64 distro.]

I started my journey with GNU/Linux visiting a Linux Day in the 2005, and from that day has become my main OS over the years. Funny story I’m a musician too but I started much early than using computers for music production. My main instrument is the electric bass. I play different genres. From Extreme Metal to Electronics and I mod all my instruments. In july my new band pubblished his 1st album and I recorded all my tracks using at first Ardour 5.1.2, then Ardour 6.5.0 from the Debian stable repoes. Everything worked very well. But you know my official band members lives very far from me and we never meet each others even to play a single chord on guitars, inside a room or a recording studio. Taking into consideration the distance that separates us from each other and the various Lockdown, which followed because of the last pandemic; As it is easy to guess, for the recordings we entrusted ourselves to ourselves. I recorded my bass parts at home, connecting my bass-guitar to a USB sound card interfaced to Ardour that’s always installed into a very cheap laptop I own for such purposes. Said that: Every single member of the band use a different OS and a different DAW. Isn’t a problem when you’re recording audio tracks. Is a different thing when you’ve to use some very well developed plugins. In fact there are some VST3 plugins really important for our music production and for many people I know. That involves to be flexible and use whatever is needed to achieve the result. What follows are the steps I made to compile Ardour 7.1.0 with VST2 and VST3 support. I will rely on Yabridge from GitHub - robbert-vdh/yabridge: A modern and transparent way to use Windows VST2, VST3 and CLAP plugins on Linux and Wine Staging from WineHQ Debian WineHQ Repository - WineHQ Wiki to make it works everything.