Can't record into an ardour file I closed then opened again

HI,

I finished my podcast episode, exported and shut down ardour, but a few days later I realized I need to do a couple of edits, but when I re-open I can’t get my (previously working) audio input from my usb mic to register any input in ardour (I checked its still working on the system).

Ardour is (as far as I can tell) still set up like in my previous topic: [Recording directly into ardour (for noobies) - do I need to buy an interface? - #6 by vasakq]

Can anyone help?

Which OS are you using and which version or Ardour are you using (Menu > Help > About)

Check Menu > Window > Audio/MIDI Setup – What Audio-System and Device is set there?

thanks!
Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon kernel 4.15.0-135-generic
Ardour Ardour 5.12.0

ALSA, Input and output device show my Samsung Q2U microphone , same as before

I have a master file I work from for each episode (has the intro music etc) and that is working as normal, I don’t think I’ve ever exported that tho…currently “export” is the only thing I can think of that is different between the 2 files.

UPDATE: I kind of had to get this done as soon as possible so I managed to get my edits done by copy-and-pasting from other sections, but I would really like to know how to solve this for next time!

Make sure that you plug your USB mic before you start Ardour. Set your USB mic as I/O device and check the routing. I hope this picture helps:

Thanks for the reply!

Um, I’m not really getting anywhere tho…

In desperation I’ve tried updating my system, unplugging and replugging the usbs, and restarting the system (in various combinations…)

It seems upon starting Ardour (opening up my master recording file) I’m getting either:
A: can record but can’t hear any sound on playback, OR
B: can neither record nor hear playback
(it seems to be flipflopping between the two, with a preference for A)