Ardour + Jamin Mastering

Hi all,

I’m totally new with ardour and jamin, and I just got them running under Gentoo with rt-kernel patch.
I also have jackd running and client connections are done properly.
My question is about Mastering audio, this is what I actually do:

1. Importing my wav backtrack in ardour
  2. Recording guitar
  3. Mixed together
  4. Export to WAV

Now, i want to explore further with jamin and how would basic mastering is done with jamin ?

Is this the correct and proper step :

1. Open the previous exported WAV
  2. Launch jamin, set the EQ, etc.
  3. Record back with ardour then export to WAV

Thanks in advance.

honestly, I wouldn’t use jamin for mastering. I use a template I made for ardour, utilizing many of the new linuxdsp LV2 mastering plugins (and it sounds much better than jamin). The differences between what is achievable with ardour and jamin vs ardour with linuxdsp plugins is very noticeable.

A policy for including qualifications along with boisterous opinions could be interesting. Obviously beejunk has a strong opinion. I read the claim for “hideous” sound but am not sure whether to take the person serious or not. Audio production is one of those topics where many of us, myself included, become overzealous. I’m guilty with this response and don’t imagine any of us really means to cause harm.

I’ve been perfectly happy with Jamin on the couple dozen albums I’ve mastered with it. My experience is mostly limited to Jamin. I used T-Racks before Jamin existed and have mastered a couple albums with T-Racks in the last couple years. My personal mastering experience is limited to these two software solutions.