Ardour 6.2 is released

Ardour 6.2 is now released. This is primarily a maintenance release, containing a few dozen bug fixes and a couple of new features. MIDI Clock is now working better (both as a source and for transport control). Reverse MIDI playback works again, as does opening files from the macOS Finder, and some audible blips when changing transport state are now gone. There’s a new “Recent Plugins” panel in the mixer, complete with statistics about plugin use. There a couple of new control surfaces with support, and updated translations for 5 languages.

For more details, please read the whole release announcement.

Download as usual from https://ardour.org/download

And to clarify, there was no 6.1 release.

15 Likes

Whoa! Great to see fixes coming in!
I wonder why the unusual numbering though?

2 Likes

And to add to the intrigue: will Mixbus also follow suit?! It’s a nail-biter.

1 Like

Hey newbie here! Great to hear/read this!!! downloading right away!

2 Likes

It has happened before. We never, ever delete or replace tags. We tagged 6.1 then found a couple of things that had to be done before release. Since the 6.1 tag was immutable, we moved on to 6.2. It’s better when this doesn’t happen (and it doesn’t happen often), but it’s not much of an issue if it does.

2 Likes

Release process is

1. tag the release (git tag)
  2. start builds (all 40 binary variants), all need to complete
  3. test builds, check unit-tests etc. check for regressions.
  4. create source tar.gz
  5. upload and publish
  6. announce

If any of the steps 2-5 fails, it’s back to square one.

This could be avoided by doing explicit release candidates for minor releases. Except we still need to re-build after changing a rc-N tag.

PS. In this case we discovered a regression causing audible clicks when locating. I blame Murphy that I only managed to reproduce and understand the issue moments after 6.1 was tagged :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Dear Paul! Dear Robin!