Adding a virtual keyboard to Ardour

Hi all,

Is there a way to create a keyboard in Ardour without an actual midi keyboard?
Basically, I want something like the functionality I remembered in FruityLoops many years back:

I remember a really cool feature where you could use a keyboard, and it would change the pitch (I think it’s the pitch) of the WAV file so you could create a melody out of one sample WAV file. Then, all you needed was a regular keyboard (no MIDI keyboard required), and it would bind a set of keys as keyboard keys that you could press while it’s recording, to create a melody from your WAV file(s). I really want that functionality badly. I don’t have a MIDI keyboard to use.

I found this image online of something that looked like the FruityLoops keyboard, but it looks like it’s for midi, and I don’t have a MIDI keyboard, and I can’t find documentation on how/what/where this is and if it’s applicable to what I’m looking for:

I’m a complete noob to Ardour and music production in general (though I’ve used FruityLoops in the past), and I’ve been trying to figure this out for a while without any success. Any help would or guidance on this is greatly appreciated.

@cgvirus: you do not need to use JACK in order to use Ardour, even with a virtual keyboard like VMPK. Ardour’s own ALSA audio/MIDI backend is perfectly able to interact with “virtual MIDI devices” like VMPK.

Also, this thread is nearly 3 years old.

From my research here is the way to work with VMPK+Ardour:
apt install qjackctl a2jmidid

Now open qjackctl>setup>Settings>Driver : ALSA> MIDI Driver: seq> OK
restart qjack. Start the connection.

Start Ardour session with JACK>start VMPK> create a MIDI track in Ardour.
Now right click in the track>inputs>Hardware>check midi_capture_1 or any channel appropriate.

you can also do this patching in qjackctl> connect> MIDI>system(OUTPUT PORTS)>Ardour (INPUT PORTS)