A question to plugins, especially EQ

Hello, folks!

I’m still fairly new to mixing and mastering of self recorded music and using plugins with Ardour. So I watch regularly tutorials on YouTube about such stuff, i.e. of Paul Davids, a dutch guitar player. He showed a very interesting feature while using an EQ plugin. In general, I know what an EQ is and how it works, but this was new to me. He demonstrated the use of the lowpass filter and with a keystroke, the plugin switched the output to the filtered out signal to make hearable, what was cut off. I have to confess, that I mostly use CALF plugins so far, because they seem very intuitive to work with, so I don’t know, if there are any other free EQ plugins, usable with Ardour on Linux, that do that in a similar way. If i.e. the CALF EQs should be able to do so, I didn’t find out yet, how to manage that. So please feel free to spread your wisedom.

The general advice you hear in these forums is do not use CALF plugins, they are prone to problems and tend to be of poor quality.
The EQ plugins which come with Ardour are fine to use. Are you using the build of Ardour from this site, or one which was installed with a linux distribution? The build from ardour.org comes with some additional plugins.

1 Like

Hey, Chris!

I use Ardour on Manjaro. Have it installed from the repos. Also all plugins I could find. I also followed a YouTube video of Unfa. It’s a big list. Usually I narrow it to Gate, Limiter, Compressor, EQ and reverb and the fluidsynth plugin.
Calf plugins on the other hand I remembered from former attemps of home recording and some mixing. I found them easy to use and self explanatoring. The graphic display helped me a lot to understand what they are doing with the signal.
Maybe it would be helpful for me and other beginners to know, which are this fine additional plugins, that come with Ardour, so I can give them a try?
(Oh, and by the way - I never had any problems with the CALF plugins I used so far.)