Windows plugins with Ardour? A possibly stupid idea

I’ve been using Ardour for a few months now for Audiobook production and it has been great. However I also use the RX tools for cleaning up the audio and I obviously have to export that, clean it an reimport it. Apparently you can use those tools natively in other DAW’s. I also bought a few plugins with a voucher I got when I bought the izotope tools from plugin alliance. They work great with RX8 but I gather that can be plugged into any DAW.

I know you can apparently do some magic with Wine to get some of these plugins to work with Ardour but it can crash things and cause problems.

So I had a thought, perhaps not original to me, and perhaps really stupid.

Would it be possible to build a network client for windows that talks to the plugins and then routes data into and out of ardour over the network from the windows machine to the linux box? So you could drive the plugin from Ardour but has it run natively in windows? I don’t know enough about how plugins work to see why this is obviously stupid so please forgive me if it is. But it seems a small plugin driver running on windows and linux and talking across the network and looking like a local plugin/daw to each side of the connection should work in theory.

I gather there could be latency issues that would be a problem, but we are talking about a local lan, probably two machines on the same switch, or even the windows machine running in vm on the same machine (thats how I run the window and mac software I need at the moment and it runs alright) not on a different machine half way around the world.

I wouldn’t know where to begin building such a thing, but i’m a software engineer by trade so if it was feasible in theory i’d be happy to work on such an idea if anybody had some pointers or liked the idea s well.

1 Like

So I am assuming you are referring to running Ardour on Linux with a plugin host on Windows then?