which distribution and DAW hardware?

Hi,
I am a german musician, I want to record with Linux.
I have install Studio Ubuntu, but the rc-kernel making problems.
The system refreezing after some minutes.

Is there any audio Distribution without the rc-kernel?

But the real problem is the interface, I’m just about to buy a Saffire LE http://www.focusrite.com/products/saffire/saffire_le/ .
There is the FFADO projekt, the Saffire LE work.
But my question: I got a problem with the onbord ALSA chip. He grumble. (is this the right word?^^)
Can I disable the ALSA driver completely?

I need only Jack and FFADO?

(sorry for my bad english^^)

Try 64studio 3, there kernel is better

I use a Saffire Pro 10 IO for audio (using FFADO) in conjunction with 4 USB MIDI devices running under ALSA… FFADO and ALSA are sociable but you can only use one for audio at a time but with a2jmidi you can use both for MIDI. BTW I am able to run my saffire at 32 periods with 3 buffers at 48 khz… (2msec roundtrip latency)… this is better than I was getting with a delta PCI card under ALSA…

To use the Saffire LE you MUST HAVE FFADO, and I recommend using the latest testing version or even the SVN version, along with the newest version of Jack. I recommend that you compile your own. Distribution is probably not so relevant, especially if you compile your own kernel.

Hi Stripes

I’m sorry I don’t have any real information to help you, but the Saffire LE is top of my list to purchase soon so I am also investigating compatibility. I notice it is one of the few interfaces that the FFADO site lists as having “full support”, so I am reasonably confident there. You don’t need to have the device to install FFADO, and in fact I have seen some people recommend that you get it successfully installed before buying the hardware. FFADO RC 2 sounds like it quite stable, so I wouldn’t be too concerned about the maturity of that project.