When I starts a new session on Ardour VST, warning windows shows saying:

"warning: your system has a limit for maximum amount of locked memory. this might cause ardour to run out of memory before your system runs out of memory.

you can view the memory limit ‘ulimit -l’, and it is normally controlled by /etc/security/limits.conf"

My laptop is a Toshiba Dynabook core duo 2 2.00Ghz 2Gb ram/ My Ubuntu is a 10.10 converted to Dream.

Im sorry but this is my first time using both Ardour and Ubuntu…

I’d like to know what does that mean?

You really should learn to use google before asking a question like this. There must be half a million hits about this on the net.

Here’s the faq about realtime (rtprio) and memory locking (memlock) : http://jackaudio.org/linux_rt_config

You need to add this to your /etc/security/limits.conf

@audio - rtprio 99
@audio - memlock unlimited
@audio - nice -19

And then add yourself to the audio group

And, as reiterated in absurdum, the @audio - nice -19 has nothing to do with realtime audio and could/should be omitted.

Peder, Im sorry for havent looked at the google as you think… or maybe I did looked at google and just found very technical stuff for people who have some experience with configuration??

Thank you for the replies but I have no idea of what u r talking?

Is there a section in this forum dealing with beginners?

or… Should I have technical knowledge before thinking about posting here?

Because if this forum is not for beginners, Im wasting my time and yours. Im sorry for that.

@saresu.bass

Actually under recent versions of ubuntu, editing the limits.conf file will not help you at all. in fact it will be “overwritten” by a file which is called audio.conf.

In a terminal you should type:

sudo gedit /etc/security/limits.d/audio.conf

Hit enter, enter your password and find the line with memlock. Delete the number and change it to read:

@audio - memlock unlimited

You can also change the rtprio line:

@audio - rtprio 99