VST Plugins Disappeared?

I’m new to Linux and Ardour.

I’ve been working for two days on a Podcast - Today I opened Ardour and a message came up saying some Plugins were missing and would be removed from my session.

After checking my Plugins, it seems as though a lot have disappeared.

Could anyone help please?

Ardour doesn’t do anything to “manage” your plugins on the system. The more likely thing is some sort of system update process that happened manually or automatically which has changed which plugins are available.

We see reports of this for various Linux distributions occasionally.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply Paul.

My OS is Ubuntu Studio, running Ardour 5. Is there anything I can do to get the plugins back or would it just be a case of waiting for my OS to update?

If I were to download Ardour 5.12 and donate on a monthly basis, would I get a more stable product?

Sorry for quick succession of replies.

Just a quick update - After few attempts at uninstalling and reinstalling the program, linuxVSTs have now reappeared.

Like I said, I’m new to all this. Had enough of Windows and the expense of Adobe, and I’m actually enjoying learning from scratch with Ardour.

Thank you, Scott.

My guess is that you’re using Ardour from Ubuntu. You are welcome to do so, but please be aware that we cannot and do not support versions provided by Linux distributions. They frequently make mistakes with their builds, sometimes by accident, sometimes intentionally. People often have issues with the distro versions that go away when they try the build from ardour.org

1 Like

Surely Ubuntu Studio is shipping a functional version of Ardour!? :thinking: It’s the flagship DAW!!??