VST installation for ArdourVST

How do I install VST plugins into ArdourVST?
The plugins I want are not in the repositories.
I am using Ubuntu Dream Studio 10.10.
I am new to Linux, coming from Windows XP.
Thanks

See answer #3 here : http://ardour.org/node/4352

I tried the “export VST_PATH=~?VST ; ardourvst” instructions listed above by copying and pasting the command, and got no results.
There were about 30 lines of text in the terminal window, with a lot of “no such folder’ and “folder does not exist” lines.
I then logged on as “root” and tried to create a vst folder in usr/lib/ and even though the owner was listed as root, the “create a new folder” was greyed out.
I then made a copy of the VST folder on the desktop, and tried to drag it into the lib folder. I got the message " the VST folder cannot be copied because you do not have permissions to create it in the destination”.
So what do I do next?

I’m assuming the ~?VST is a typo in this post; it should be ~/VST or alternatively /home/istiver/VST (assuming your login on the computer is istiver and you have created the VST directory in your home directory and put the vst dlls there)

To create a /usr/lib/vst directory the easiest way is probably to run
sudo mkdir /usr/lib/vst in a terminal and then
sudo cp /home/istiver/VST/* /usr/lib/vst (again assuming a /home/istiver/VST directory with the vst dlls residing there)

If you still cant get it to work please paste the result of
ls -la ~/VST ; ls -la /usr/lib/vst here. And also the 30 lines the ardourvst command prints.

~?VST was a typo, but that is not what I used. I copied and pasted the command.
Your new instructions have enabled me to create the vst folder in the lib folder.
Now I still can’t copy the plugin. My user name is louis.
The VST folder that contains the plugin is located in the folder “louis”
Here is the info I think you asked for;

louis@louis-GA-MA69G-S3H:~$ sudo su

root@louis-GA-MA69G-S3H:/home/louis# ls -la ~/VST ; ls -la /usr/lib/vst