Very New to this and need lots of help.

Hey guys, thanks for reading and helping if possible. I am very new to Ubuntu and Ardour. In fact I have never really used Ardour because I cant get some stuff working. I am going to give as much info as possible, hoping that you will be able to shed some light on a few questions.

I have been able to get the “Jack Was Unable to Start” error to go away by using this command: jackd -d alsa -d hw:1

When I start ardour it already picks up my desktop microphone. When I select a new track and record, it picks it up. However when I push play it doesn’t work. What can I do to setup my audio settings so that it plays?

I am trying to use a Mustang I amplifier (has USB connection) with Ardour. I have found the input in QjackCtl setup, but when I try to get it to connect within Ardour or on the main Jack audio interface page I cannot find it. Is there something else I need to do in either to get it recognized and able to record?

What do I select as my output? Or how do I find this information? The names all just look like gibberish to me.

To be honest I have no idea what I am doing, and even though the things I posted in some cases may sound like it, I don’t really know much more than what I posted and everything there is just from research not actual knowledge. :stuck_out_tongue:

I am hoping someone will be willing to walk me through some steps very slowly to get JACK and Ardour set up properly so I can get it to work.

I am using Ubuntu Studio, no external sound card (just a basic Creative inside card), a basic midi connection cable (though doesnt apply a ton here), Mustang I amp.

Ask for more info you need, please be simple but explain what you are asking me to do. Thank you so so so much.

This should help…

http://en.flossmanuals.net/ardour/