Using VST via MIDI

Hello friends!
I’m a drummer and don’t have much experience using ARDOUR. Now I’m trying to use my drum module (2box drumit Three) to record VST drums with ARDOR. I use ARDOR with Jack and Ubuntu. Audio recording works fine. I installed AVL drums as the VST. I can create a MIDI-track and play the VST with the ARDOUR-Keyboard.
How can I play AVL-Drums with my module and establish the connection? Is there any instruction? Many Thanks!

Hi!

You have to connect your drum kit to your computer using a midi connection (i.e. usb to midi converter cable or through direct midi connection to your audio recorder device).

Hi! I have tried
a) MIDI / USB cable directly to the computer
b) MIDI / MIDI cable into the audio interface and then into the computer. What is better? Neither of them worked.

The best option would be to use your audi9 interface since your audio signal of your audio interface will be in sync with the midi data.

You have to check that your midi drum kit is connected to the midi track using the button shown in here (buttton 3) :

If its not listed in here, you have to check that you have a2jmidid (the midi to jack bridge) running.

Ok! I use a Behringer UMC1820-Inteface. So, I connect my modul via MIDI/MIDI cable to my interface, and the interface via USB with the PC. What device must be shown, the Behringer, the Drum-Modul?

It will show your audio interface but the name shown really depends on the devices… You should give a look at what’s in the list, try with your audio interface plugged in and unplugged so that you’ll see what’s changing.

OK, thanks a lot! I’ll try it later. Do I have to change any settings in JACK, when I use MIDI via my Interface? The digital connection between the interface, JACK an ARDOUR ist actually running well.

No, I dont think you need to change anything.
The stuff from the previous posts may do the trick!