Using EWS88MT With Ardour and Ubuntu Studio

Hello all, I am new to the linux world and am planning on setting up a linux DAW using Ubuntu Studio With Ardour. I currently have Terratec EWS88MT sound card and need to know if it will work with Ardour and Ubuntu. Any help would be greatly appreciated

just sold 3 of them, but yes, they work great…actually miss them, just wasn’t using them as much as I used to. Just make sure that you turn up the inputs in alsamixer (that one got me twice!).
mm0

P.S. They should work right out of the box.

thanks for the advice. What sound card do you use now?

I just have my on-board right now, and a Yamaha DP-U50…neither of which I would want to do any serious recording…I also have an Echo Mia, which is a great card, but can’t get it to work at all, even though ALSA supports it…oh well…

I cannot get any sound out of my EWS88MT. I have checked tha alsa mixer and everything seems to be unmuted. Any ideas

First, is it your card working with the alsa driver, can you play an audio file at all? (this is, without starting ardour or other jack related application?).
If so,
run qjackctl, go to the set up and check the interface. It could be that jack is not seeing the EWS88MT but another one (the onboard one maybe?).
Although ardour starts jack for you, at this first stage I recommend you start jack (with its GUI, qjackctl) and then ardour, to help you understand how it works.
Cheers
Pablo

Also, how do youhave the card patched. I only used the breakout box, not the 1/8" mini connector. And, as the previous poster asked…does sound work for anything else?

mm0

No, My card does not work with the alsa driver. I can play audio files with the totem media player when i use the ice1712 multi driver. I use the breakout box with the cable from the card to the box. How do I check the interface in Jack?

Thanks
Ben

This is what happens after I try to start jack.

19:15:15.460 JACK is starting…