Using Av Linux and Ardour, how do I record four live channels?

Dear Audiophile,

What hardware configuration would you recommend for recording four tracks using Ardour on the brand new AV Linux 23.1? More specifically, how much RAM, how much CPU, and how much sound card would you recommend for the laptop, and which external devices (mixers?) would you recommend to go with that computer?

Backstory:

I am new to the world of audio recording. My goal is to create a system for precisely locating the origin of mechanical noises coming from moving automobiles.

The idea is for a technician in the passenger seat to be able to watch on a laptop the outputs from all four piezo discs while a driver operates the vehicle in a manner that re-creates the reported noise-related issues.

My current plan is to have four piezo disc microphones attached to various suspect mechanic parts feeding Shure BLX wireless bodypacks. BLX receivers have mic-level outputs. I am not attached to using Shure or BLX but that is where I am at in my research.

Ideally, the system would include a fifth channel for capturing the audio experience inside the vehicle, including verbal comments from people inside the vehicle such as “right there, yep, that’s the rumble. There it goes again” etc.

All feedback, suggestions, or harsh criticisms are welcome. Thanks for reading.

• Recording four (or five) audio tracks simultaneously in Ardour won’t cause any machine built in the last twenty years to break a sweat: the task is I/O bound, not CPU or RAM constrained.
  • The cheapest four-channel USB audio interface will be fine, although you’ll likely have to go up to a six- or eight-channel interface to get five microphone preamps.
  • I would record to a USB SSD, rather than a spinning drive, both for performance and for reliability.
1 Like

I interpret that to mean that the USB audio interface will be doing all the heavy lifting, not the laptop’s CPU or RAM. Am I reading that correctly?