Using a Behringer audio interface and guitarix

I have a Behringer usb audio interface and I wish to connect my electric guitar to guitarix and record it with all the effects, in ardour. I am using ardour in Ubuntu studio19. I am a newbie to Linux and audio production. Can someone please provide me with stepwise instructions to doing it??

Thank you

Hello there @Abhigya,
it will take some effort to find your way around Linux, but if you manage, it will be rewarding.

Guitarix is not the easiest software to use in Ardour. You’d either have to connect through Jack or generate an LV2 plugin through Carla. Both is not exactly newbie territory. If someone knows an easier approach please post.

As a first step, you might get some results by simply setting up Guitarix standalone with this video link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UwMqXwDpL1k

If you managed that … and had a nice jam … you can connect to record in Ardour through Jack. If you run into problems please post, so people here can help you. :desert_island::sunglasses:

1 Like

Thank you for your attention @somethis1. But I just realised my problem after watching this video. My audio interface isn’t showing up in Ubuntu! But i remember it showed up on one of the previous versions. I checked for drivers and Linux drivers aren’t available for my model! Can something be done?

There is no need to “generate an LV2 plugin through Carla”. Most of Guitarix’ processing is already available as distinct LV2 plugins.

1 Like

There are no special drivers for a class-compliant USB audio device, which I believe the Behringer device you are trying use is. If it doesn’t show up, it isn’t because of “missing drivers”.

1 Like

So what should I do?