User Interface Optimization

I am a hardstyle producer from New Zealand, and I’ve been using Ardour for a few months now, I’m absolutely loving it. The MIDI behaviour can get quite sluggish when there are too many tracks, but nothing unmanageable at this stage.

I’ve looked at a few forum posts around topics similar to this, and it seems as though suggestions to the UI/UX are a bit of a touchy subject, but I thought I’d offer a real specific suggestion that isn’t just “Oh, this should be better cause Reaper does this” or some other subjective opinion like that.

My suggestion: would it be possible/simple enough to allow customization of the buttons in Ardour besides just a tickbox for square or rounded corners, and a tickbox for flat or gradient buttons? Even if it was something as simple as actually customizing both colours in the gradient rather than just choosing one colour and making the bottom half of it darker. My theory was that maybe there could be a folder where you could place a grayscale texture file, and the buttons would just use that for their appearance, although I’m aware this is probably fundamentally different to how the buttons in Ardour are coded in the first place.

Would love to know what everyone’s thoughts are on this, and whether it’s actually possible or not. Aside from this and the MIDI stability issues, Ardour is great! Can’t believe I used FL Studio for as long as I did without realizing this project existed, lol!

In general, Ardour’s own “custom” GUI elements (which includes many, but not all buttons) are drawn in code as vector graphics (think SVG). They do not use loaded image files to create their elements.