Use a Software Compressor?

I have no hardware compressor, and I’m told I could use some compression on my vocals. I’ve never used one before.

How do I use software compression in Ardour?
How’s the latency?
Does latency even matter when recording in a studio??

I am assuming you are talking about adjusting the levels of something in post (using compressor automation). The solution is to avoid this during / pre-recording – but that said.

Many external boxes have several aspects, which folks refer to as: Compressor, Limiter, Expander and Gate.

A Compressor only does one thing, it provides controlled attenuation based on a few controls. The first control is a threshold, anything under the threshold, the signal passes the core compression stage without any attenation. Once the signal is past the threshold, attenuation is applied to the signal.

There are more “knobs” to tweek, but that is the core. There is a ratio (aka 1:4) of how much attenuation to provide, the larger the ratio (all the way up to infinity), the more attenuation, which infinity reducing all of the signal over a threshold.

There is also an control “envelope” with parameters that are known as attack, release and a “correction” curve (also known as Knee) that defines an averaging & smooth method for the signal’s level over time. A longer envelop will not respond to short spikes above the threshold or does so very mildly. A continuous signal (longer than the envelope) will provide the full attenuation as defined by the ratio.

(wordy, but short).