Use a joystick axis or a POV hat in Ardour 5

Hey, i’m pretty new to Ardour but I think it’s great so far, but iv’e looked and there appears to be no way to bind anything like joystick buttons to stuff like master volume control or timeline scrubbing. Just wondering if there is an option like that or if that can be in an update.

You have 3 options:

1. translate incoming data from the controller to MIDI, then use existing Ardour infrastructure as if it was an actual MIDI controler
  2. translate incoming data into OSC, then use existing Ardour infrastructure as if it was an actual OSC controller
  3. use Ardour’s unlimited customizability (because the whole thing is open source) to add a new control surface module to the program

If you’re looking for a scripting language technique, it doesn’t exist. Proprietary programs need those because they cannot/will not expose their entire internals to 3rd parties. In Ardour’s case, you can do whatever you want without using a scripting language as a proxy layer for control.

“2) translate incoming data into OSC, then use existing Ardour infrastructure as if it was an actual OSC controller”

Here is an application to do just that, for Mac and Linux at least:

https://github.com/danomatika/joyosc.

Forgive my complete ignorance, but how can I translate sender OSC message to Ardour message? For example “/joyosc/devices/js0/button 0 1” to “/ardour/transport_play”. Is there some dedicated program for Linux (like OSControl) or just an .xml file? I’ve been searching the internet looking for answers for hours without much success. Any link to site with some examples or explanations would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

vasakq, joyosc accepts a config file (or so the link you gave says) that allows you to set what OSC messages are sent for which control presses or movements. The messages to send are documented in:
http://manual.ardour.org/using-control-surfaces/controlling-ardour-with-osc/