Updated Ubuntu Studio to 21.04 now Ardour crashes

I have been using Ardour for about 4 months to edit a weekly podcast. Once I learned how it all worked, it has been AMAZING and worked flawlessly.

I recently updated Ubuntu Studio to 21.04 with little thought. Tonight I tried to edit this week’s podcast, which is actually a Snapshot from the last edit, and Ardour keeps crashing.

We record every 2 weeks and then I make 2 podcasts from that one recording. Tonight’s edit is largely setup, just a few things here and there and it’ll be done, but I can’t get Ardour to open EXCEPT if I uncheck real time scheduling in qJackCTL.

I read that as a solution somewhere online, but I don’t know why it works. I am able to open the podcast and edit it, but what is real time scheduling and why is this breaking now?

I feel like when I started using Ardour I had to add my user to the audio group with real time privileges, maybe with the update, that got wiped out. I don’t remember how to do it. Does that sound like the thing that could be breaking it all?

Additionally, since I contribute, I have been using the latest version of Ardour, 6.6. Now I notice that Ardour 6.6 is in the repo for Ubuntu Studio 21.04. Could that version be causing a conflict with the version of 6.6 I have been using?

I’ve been using Linux for about a year and am no expert, so I’m a little stumped on how to proceed.

Any ideas?

Here are 2 error messages I received that might help explain what is happening.

Thanks for any insights you can offer.
Screenshot_20210426_173043
Screenshot_20210426_171909

The two errors are caused by you not following the instructions for installing JACK, or by Ubuntu not doing the right thing.

You still need to do this, apparently.

Also, unless you actually need JACK for some specific reason, we recommend that most people avoid using it, and simply use the builtin ALSA backend (in Ardour)

1 Like