Update overwrites Theme?

Hi!
I’ve altered a theme, when I now update to a more current version, does it overwrite my changes?
Thanks

1 Like

Upgrading from ardour.org will not touch either your own personal theme (in ~/.config/ardour9) or the themes that came with the older version because we do parallel installs of different versions.

However, we have no mechanism for “merging” your changes with those in the themes of a new version, so you may run into problems (minor) in a new version. This will happen when we release 9.8, for example, which includes 2 new definitions that you won’t have. Elements that use those colors will get a random color instead.

Thanks Paul, ok :slight_smile:

One other question, please, when I run a demo version and buy a license, can I do the activation offline? And does it work for the version I’m running (without updating)?

My previous reply was wrong. We will not overwrite older theme files, but we will ignore them when a newer version of Ardour starts up (so you would not see any problems, but will also not get your custom theme either.

There is no license for Ardour other than the GPL. You are not paying us for a license, you are payng us to build Ardour for you. There is no activation step, you are free to copy Ardour freely and use it as you wish.

1 Like

Ok, but how do I get rid of the screen that cancels audio at the same time? Or do I get a new version when paying?

You get a completely new version after paying.

Ok Paul, thanks for your time.