Unknown Worlds, by Bones in the Walls

New single release today, made entirely in Ardour. We’re a duo, so the sound is a bit minimal between the two of us, but we embrace it.

It starts as a pretty hazy indie folk, but ends a bit more western/americana. We’re nearly done with an entire album of similar styled songs, all sort of western/dreampop style pretty typical of the Tucson Arizona area (if you’re familiar with Calexico or Giant Sand, etc).

All made on Ardour, and Ubuntu Studio. I’ve been using Ardour now for 2-3 years and It’s just gotten better and better. Love everything happening with it, and am so grateful for this forum, the manual, and the folks like Unfa making insightful videos.

Here’s what makes up this tune’s production:

Calf Compressors/limiters
EQ10Q Stereo EQ
Calf Saturator
TAP AutoPanner
Dragonfly’s wonderful Plate and Hall reverb
Calf Vintage Delay
GxAmplifier Fender Sim to add back in a bit more amp sound.

Recorded using the U-Phoria UMC404HD interface
Album art done in GIMP and Inkscape

Streaming everywhere, the link provided is to Bandcamp, hope y’all dig it!

4 Likes

Really enjoyed that. I like the production with muted vocal effect there and the theremin like instrument at the end. Listening, in my mind I’m walking in the desert at night when I reach an old abandoned frontier town. But it feels like another planet. Thanks! :vulcan_salute:

1 Like

Thanks so much for your comments. Your description was 100% what we were going for. The rest of the album is similarly vibed. It’s all sort of cinematic space western. I’ve been using photos and art lately to guide our music’s imagery, and you may be pleased to see how close your description was to the original concept.

1 Like

This is hauntingly beautiful. I absolutely love it. Hooked right from the start.

Gonna check out your other releases now. Thanks for sharing!

2 Likes