Trouble setting up MIDI Controller with PipeWire

Hello,

Newbie here trying to set up MIDI keyboard controller in Ardour. I’m working on a Debian 12 with Pipewire:

PulseAudio (on PipeWire 0.3.65)

When I select ALSA after configuring Audio/MIDI Setup option I can see MIDI keyboard option when configuring a MIDI Track. Ardour is able to catch activity but I cannot hear anything. When I check qpwgraph no Ardour box is there. Ardour logs show the following message:

2023-05-14T17:02:23 [ERROR]: AlsaSeqMidiIO: Device initialization failed.
2023-05-14T17:02:23 [WARNING]: AlsaMidiIn: failed to open midi device '144:0'.

I’ve tried the same using Pulseaudio instead. But no MIDI keyboard is found. However, when checking qpwgraph this time Ardour box exists, only a few ports though (nothing to do with the number of ports that I have seen in other images). And of course now I can hear sound coming from Ardour.

Ardour version: 7.4.0

Any help is welcome.

Thanks!

Lots of details to cover, so I will try to go one at a time.

Usually ALSA is the easiest and least trouble backend to use, however there are some relevant details you did not add initially that are relevant to the audio setup.

It appears from your included picture of the Pipewire graph at the end of your post that you are using Bluetooth headphones as your audio device. Ardour does not support Bluetooth devices, so that would explain why you cannot hear anything. To use Bluetooth headphones you will have to use Pipewire, which for Ardour means making sure pipewire-jack is installed (may have a slightly different name depending on your distribution) and using the JACK backend for the Ardour audio connection.

What audio device did you configure when you configured your USB keyboard as the MIDI source? My first suspicion would be that you chose some audio device built in to the motherboard, which may have meant that the audio was being sent to a headphone jack which you were not using.