Total Newbie

I was a pro recording engineer in the 80’s and early 90’s.

I have used Win7 based pro DAW’s for personal music production hobby since they were invented.

It just took me 2 days to get a minimal command line Arch Linux system up and running on an old box.

Whilst I have not yet fired up Ardour I was wondering - what would I need to learn in order to assist in the development of DAW for Linux.

Well the first question is, do you know how to program in C or C++?

Seablade

Glenjeff: without some fairly serious C++ and Unix-ish development skills, contributing to Ardour development will be hard. The program is multithreaded, contains multiple real time threads, lots of complex synchronization and inter-thread communication mechanisms, and many other rather “advanced” programming paradigms. It may be much more valuable to consider stuff like writing documentation, which is critically important for users and massively under-resourced. Programmers don’t like doing this sort of thing, and since the development team is almost entirely programmers, it tends not to happen, much to the detriment of the program and its users.

Thanks seablade and paul.

Hope your back improves seablade and I am about “Hello World” level at c++.

Paul, I will consider writing documentation. First I must try the program I guess and see if it interfaces with my Presonus 24 4 2 desk. Drivers have always been my biggest issue.

Presonus 24 4 2 I haven’t tested, but with Studiolive 16 4 2 I do record some tracks (2012 june).
And here is {ubuntu studio) usr/share/libffado2/configuration :
{ # Entry for StudioLive 2442, from Walt Baldwin
vendorid = 0x00000A92;
modelid = 0x00000012;
vendorname = “PreSonus”;
modelname = “STUDIOLIVE_2442”;
driver = “DICE”;
},