To Linux or not to Linux...

First let me say that I hope this is a legal and properly placed post on this forum (I did not see any rules posted).

The more I think about it, the more I loathe the idea of having a single developer for my OS. My knowledge of Linux is fairly limited, and- although I have had my affairs with Ubuntu and a few other versions- I know that I do not come close to having unlocked the potential of Linux. I love the open-source movement, and anything online with a great community. The community may be the final push to changing my OS.

I’m posting this on the Ardour forum because I believe that this software (along with PureData) may be strong enough to satisfy my palette. I have just begun learning pd-- Does anybody on here integrate the two? I believe that if Ardour’s PureData support (maybe through Jack although I do not understand Jack yet, I am new to all of this.) is sufficient then I will be able to use it for live work and program my Novation 25 Remote SL to control it.

How to VST’s/VSTi’s work in Linux? Are they compatible similar to Windows?

I am currently running Windows 7 and Ableton Live (although I am a DAW whore, and am not huge on live performance at the moment). All help is appreciated, I’m trying to discover the Linux Audiophile community (links?)

Perhaps I should add that my gear consists of a Dell Vostro 1520, Novation Remote SL, and a Blue Snowball USB Microphone for recording vocals and guitars. I primarily use my Remote to record MIDI VST(i)'s/Automations and then I go back and fine-tune everything, I’m currently researching OSC. I understand that I’m going to need to us Jack with other apps for MIDI. I’m also a cyclically unemployed college student with absolutely no cash.
(forgive the double-post)