System Freezes when opening Editor

I have been adding audio to a video with Ardour on Ubuntu. At one point during the edit, I think I may have hit a wrong hotkey or something. The timeline got messed up and stretched into something much, much longer than the actual project. Then Ardour became unresponsive and I forced it to quit.

Now, when I try to open the Ardour session, it runs normally until I enter the editor. When I do, I have a few seconds to force-quit Ardour, or else my entire system will freeze and I have to do a hard reset.

I have the project file that’s causing the problem if anyone would like to see it.

Anyone have a clue how this is possible? Did I do something wrong? I’m new to Ubuntu and I’ve never had any serious problems using Ardour on Windows.

Edit:

Using i9 9900K 3.60 ghz processor
nVidia gtx 1080
Behringer UMC404HD USB audio interface
32 GB RAM
Ubuntu says it is up to date.
Ardour has a cryptic popup about some sort of memory limit.
Ubuntu is version 18.04.3 LTS

Perhaps an invalid zoom-level? We’ve seen issues in the past where Ardour 5.x calculates a music-time grid until the sun turns nova… but usually runs out of memory before that :slight_smile:

In the session-folder, try moving the “instant.xml” file away (or delete it).
That file only contains Editor-settings (zoom-level, window-size and position, etc). It is save to be removed.

It might also be helpful to start Ardour from a terminal. There may be some abort message printed there.

That did seem to do something. Now, it opened normally, and crashed only when I zoomed out. There’s a weird bug where, when I try to ctrl-scroll wheel to zoom in the editor widow, it zooms to a single sample and won’t zoom out unless I hover my mouse over the navigator in the bottom of the screen. I didn’t mention it before because I didn’t think it could be related.
konkor GNOME cpufreq turned red and said ‘System overload’ when this happened.