Sync Ardour to... Notator SL on Atari ST with Unitor 2

This is a long shot…

I’m new to Ardour and Notator. I use Ardour on OS X.

I can’t seem to be able to sync them. I tried Ardour as master and Notator as slave and vice versa.
I have the complete manual with Notator and they don’t seem to support MTC, and Ardour doesn’t support MIDI Clock…

I’ve found somewhere by google that someone used a SMPTE track generated by Notator and then recorded on Ardour (like it was an old 8 track tape recorder) .
I’ve never done that but I guess it would work. It just annoys me to dedicate an output on my card just for that.

If anyone has another solution, I would most definitly appreciate. In fact, any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!

You have already stated the problems and a possible solution, not much more anyone is going to be able to tell you.

If Notator doesn’t support MTC, Ardour does not support Midi Clock, there is a disconnect there. And yes conceivably you can dedicate a track in Ardour and output on your card to record a SMPTE signal and give it to the Atari. At least it should work in theory at least, note that I have never actually tried this.

Seablade

Yeah well, I had sort of wished someone would come up with some kind of MIDI software that could somehow do the bridge.

I guess I’ll have to experiment with the SMPTE trick.

Thanks

Spadz

@Spadz: since MIDI clock and MIDI Time Code do not contain the same kind of information at all, its hard to see how one could “translate” them.

I unfortunately don’t know the specifics but I know it’s different.
I started going back to the Atari because it brought back memories and the MIDI Timing is absolutely amazing. I had Ardour as master with Cubase on Atari. But I got a full version of Notator with the Unitor and so on. I thought it would support MTC, but I couldn’t find any clear answer on the net, and it did not work with Ardour at all. Cubase was doing fine.