Still got the mute problem with 2.8.9 // Font size problem

Hi,

i’m new to linux, ubuntu, and ardour… So, i compiled ardour 2.8.9, to avoid the mute problem.

But it still doesn’t work… i have to right-click, select what i want… ok for a one-track session, but it becomes a problem while getting more tracks…

Please help !!! i’d just like to click the “M” button, to have the track muted…

Second problem: i choose an 8 font size in the “appearance” menu of ubuntu 10.04. everything goes ok (firefox, desktop…), except ardour, which stays really big big big… and doesn’t fit my screen…

How can i solve this problem ?..

Thanks a lot

hallo,
for the second problem:

menu->window->preferences->misc tab->font scalling.

for the first problem - use the svn version, the mute problem got resolved just after the 2.8.9 release. or edit your ardour.rc file.

cheers,
doc

thanks for answering me :slight_smile:

i’ve got the french version of ubuntu… i don’t know what “misc tab” is… is it the window where you can choose themes ? (“Apparence” in french) … because i’ve already been there, to put the font size at 8… and it doesn’t work at all, with ardour…

What is the svn version ?

both “ardour.rc” and “ardour_system.rc”, give a “yes” to the 4 lines in relation with mute.

So… i really don’t understand…

go to the main menu called window and than choose the last entry ‘preferences’ …or just pres alt+o…
they are several tabs in this dialog, choose the forelast one and move the slider called font scalling in the top of this tab. is not that heavy.

cheers,
doc

Ok… there seems to have some differences between your version and mine, because we were talking about the same thing, in fact. I do not have this option in “window”, but in “appearence”… And, my problem stay unsolved for the moment…

thanks for trying, doc !

…for the mute problem:

edit the file /usr/etc/ardour2/ardour_system.rc

to look like this:

< Option name=“mute-affects-pre-fader” value=“yes”/>