Source/destination based editing for Ardour?

Hi!

I’m wondering if there are any ideas on the table for incorporation of a source/destination based editing model for Ardour? I’m a classical engineer, and have used many tools based on this model of editing. My recent exploration of linux based systems has been really positive, but I find myself bumming about the fact that I’ll have to keep my windows partition alive to run Pyramix just for the editing! The source/destination model dates back to soundstream in the 80’s, and through Sonic Solutions up through Pyramix and Sequoia today. The ability to make 4-point edits is crucial for all us classical engineers, and I’d love to see it in a linux-friendly tool like Ardour!

Congrats on all the great work! I’m glad to be getting my first chance to play with Ardour!

Ryan

It is a requested feature in Mantis, there I think is some discussion about it there, but it has been a little bit since it was brought up so I don’t remember much of it.

Seablade

The main discussion about it was on the ardour-users mailing list. Fons Adriennsen has come the closest to persuading me of the importance of this style of editing, though he has still not been 100% successful in that effort.

It isn’t high on anyone’s list of priorities. Ardour is, however, open source, so find a programmer who is motivated by the task, money, some other factors or a combination of them all, and the work could get done.

Apparently source/destination editing can be done with Reaper see http://reaperblog.net/2013/01/video-sourcedestination-3-and-4-point-editing-actions/ which I only mention because Reaper is said to run “perfectly” in linux under wine (don’t use it myself). So maybe there is a linux source/destination option (of sorts).