Soloing doesn't work

Dear fellow Ardourists,
I’m relatively new to Ardour and have been using it with much pleasure for nine months now. I never had any problems, but now I am a bit at a loss and would appreciate your help.
In a 7-track 2-bus project everything went fine until I created a group of all tracks for editing. When this was done, I wanted to start mixing, deactivated the group and noticed that hitting the solo button didn’t have any effect at all, although all the appropriate lights were lighting up. In contrast, muting single tracks was still working fine. Even after I deleted the group, this was still happening.
What’s more, the problem now persists after an upgrade to Ardour 6.9 AND after creating a new project from scratch, no busses, no group: Hitting the solo button doesn’t have any effect, although all the appropriate lights are up).
I’d really appreciate any help – thank you very much in advance!

1 Like

As a temporary check, can you move your preferences folder (~/Library/Preferences/Ardour6) to to your desktop real quick, and create a new session, which will create a new default preferences for Ardour, and see if the problem persists? If it does definitely let us know, but if not, it is a preference you set, likely related to solo or monitoring obviously. You could then delete the ‘new’ preference folder, copy your old one back into place, and then check your settings knowing you have a backup on your desktop if you need.

Seablade

EDIT: I … the file path. Fixed

Thank you very much, Seablade — after removing the existing Preferences folder the problem was gone. Can you possibly give me a pointer as to what preference I might have clicked wrongly before? Thanks again!