Rosegarden or not Rosegarden

Hi happy Ardour users,

What sequencer do you use to rec your MIDI tracks in our favorite DAW, when you have record/edit they ?

Rosegarden is favorite because of the, in my point of view, excellent score and notation features. I started to play with Midi since about 9 month and my background is mostly classical music. Therefore I write the songs purely with the notation editor before generating any sound. My sound generator is a Yamaha Motif Rack XS. I never played with VSTs up to now. This could change in the future.

@thorgal: can you expand on the grid/scale issue for me?

Paul, it’s a matter of tempo mapping when you have progressive variations, say like a linear decrease from 150 BPM to 70 BPM over e.g. a 10 sec duration. I don’t see how the ardour tempo grid (bars, beats, etc) can handle such a time variation. Or did I miss this feature in the recent versions ?? :slight_smile: In RG, you can set two different BPM points in time and join them linearly (it’s called tempo ramping). I use it a lot for my MIDI drumming. But it does not map well in ardour so I cannot rely on bars and beats. That’s probably due to the nature of the data (MIDI vs audio).

I use rosegarden. But I started using openoctave, a fork of rosegarden focusing on the matrix editor only. Rosegarden tends to develop too much around scores and notation to my taste (I don’t read notes so all the notation and lilypond stuff is beyond me). On the other hand, openoctave is focusing on precisely what I use rosegarden for, so it’s interesting to see. However, it’s a fork of RG that depends on KDE3/Qt3. And I use KDE 4.3/Qt4 so I hope OO will evolve away from the older libs.