Ripple mode very inconsistent

Hello all! I’m new to the Ardour community and on a quest to find a suitable replacement for Pro Tools in my Voice Over studio. After a few hours of poking arouind Ardour looks great! I’ve come across only 1 stumbling block so far and I’m hoping it’s operator error on my part. I’m finding that the Ripple edit mode is very vexing. The results I get from dragging and dropping regions in and among existing regions is totally inconsistent. Sometimes it works as expected and other times it just makes a mess by moving regions in an illogical way or creating unintended overlaps. Am I alone in this or are other more experienced users having better luck? Any hints or tips you could pass along? I’d love to become a productive member of this community. Thanks!

Howard

Hi Howard,

You might be expecting Ripple to work like PT’s “Shuffle” mode. But that’s not the case.

If I recall correctly, Ripple only does 4 things:

1. if you delete a Range, then all the regions that start(*) to the right of the range will be moved left to ‘close the gap’
  2. if you delete a region, then all the regions that start(*) to the right of the region will moved left, for the same length as that of the removed region.
  3. if you move a region, then then all the regions that start(*) to the right of the region will be moved along with the region.
  4. if you drag a region into a track (or paste into a track) then all the regions that start(*) to the right of the new region will be moved to the right.

(*) note that Ripple doesn’t split regions. So if you paste a region on top of another region (for example), the lower region won’t move. But any regions that start to the right will move.

I hope this helps!
-Ben