Revisionist Mystery (2018 Album)

I’ve been using Ardour as my only DAW since at least 2010, producing little albums and EPs in houses, yurts, buses, vans, and wherever else I can fit myself. Here it is.

Every software I used was open source except for Overtone DSP’s FC70, which is awesome, and their PTC-2A and PTM-5A, which I’m still figuring out how to use.

The keyboard instruments are all lv2 plugins; drums are either Hydrogen plus shakers or an actual trapset; all the rest of the instruments are real.

3 Likes

Not really the type of music I usually look for but sounds good, very “spatial”, cool vibe.

1 Like

Very nice, Dan! Kinda reminds of of some Peter Gabriel stuff, and someone else that I cannot quite put my finger on. Very creative. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks very much for the kind words!

Amazingly, I’m attending a three-day workshop in Peter Gabriel’s studio, Real World Studios, this May. I’m supposed to bring my own computer with me, so I’m looking forward to showing off Ardour, and the rest of the linux audio ecosystem, to all those folks.

1 Like

Well considering back when Peter Gabriel was a majority shareholder of SSL, they helped fund Ardour development for a time, it will be interesting to see how many people there are already familiar, it could be noone is, it could be several are, I will be curious to know personally.

Ha! I thought I remembered SSL sponsoring development for a bit. I strongly doubt I’ll see or talk to Gabriel, and I don’t have any idea what sort of crosstalk there is between different sections of his organization, but I’ll definitely report back to you guys.

I’m just amazed they’re letting me in the door. My music is idiosyncratic at best and my annual streaming/download sales hover around $20. :grinning: