recording woes

I recently got myself an M-Audio FireWire Solo and an average quality ribbon microphone. Got the RTkernel+JACK+Ardour combination to run without too much trouble (using Fedora 12). I have used JACK previously, years ago, but Ardour never before. All and all, I’m not very experienced with this kind of stuff (Linux yes, sound engineering no).

Now, when recording, I only get very low volume in Ardour, even if the M-Audio Solo indicator says the signal should be clipping. I can turn the M-Audio gain all the way up and scream at the mic, and it still gives only like -20dB in Ardour.

If I keep the M-Audio input gain low, I get a clean recording, but it’s way too quiet. If I turn the gain up too much, the recording becomes distorted (as if it actually did clip seriously on the way) but the volume is still pretty low (like it was lowered after the clipping).

I can’t trace where this clipping takes place. The M-Audio clipping indicator is not blinking, and the volume levels in Ardour are way too low to clip, so that leaves (as far as I can tell) JACK or my output(?).

Also, I tried to export one recording into a wav-file to listen to it through my onboard soundcard and some other software (just to see if the sound data has distortion, or just the playback from Ardour to my M-Audio), but the export resulted in an empty file (just silence). Probably did something wrong there…

I realise that the above doesn’t give too much information. Ask if you need to know more. What I’m hoping to hear are some educated guesses as to what might cause my problem.

P.S. I also could not run jackdmp even though I have a dual-core processor. Any ideas as to why this is? It didn’t give any special error message, just the usual “failed to start Jack, sorry”.