Recommended USB/FireWire audio card

Hello everybody,

I’m currently working with a desktop computer and a M-Audio Delta44 PCI soundcard with a small 8channel mixer.
Some weeks ago I bought a notebook and now I’m looking for a similiar audio interface to become mobile. In future I will sell my Delta44 on ebay and use the new USB/FW interface only.
Operating system is Kubuntu Linux.

Is USB or FireWire the better solution?
Can there occure problems when I use a PCI-Firewire controller instead of an onboard controller with my desktop PC? (laptop still has integrated FW)

I need minimum 4in/4out, and two of the inputs with mic preamps. as I’m a student I can’t spend much, so I’m looking for some used devices from ebay…
The Terratec Phase 88 FW costs around 200€ but with 8 i/o’s it’s a bit oversized and it also has no headphone jack. The Edirol FA-66 would exactly match my needs but the Edirol stuff is expensive…

Can you recommend me an audio interface that works well with linux, ardour and jackd? prize maximum 200€?
impossible? :slight_smile:

Thanks,

sebastian

Hi Sebastian,

I can’t help you with all of your questions, but I will say one thing. If possible, always go with FireWire over USB for audio work. That includes audio interfaces and external hard drives.

I’m not sure about which interface for you to go with. But isn’t the M-Audio stuff supported? If they are, they might be something worth looking at as they are rather cheap.

The only M-Audio firewire device that is supported by freebob or FFADO is the M-Audio Solo. But this is only a 2in/2out device :frowning:

But now I know for sure to take some FW device.

Not currently supported by FFADO (They have a card and they’re working on drivers atm) but you can take a look at Echo Audio’s range of cards. They are call pretty good from what I’ve heard.