Push2 - first looking good, than failing

Hi, I’m new to ardour and just exploring it.
Using the subscription version downloaded here from Ardour.org, version 8.2.0, on Ubuntu 23.10

I was quite happy to see I can use my Ableton push2, and at first it started immediately and looked good.
I mainly need the mixing function while recording jams with synthesizers/drum machines.

But from one second to the other the screen turned black while pads kept being lit, and it didn’t do anything anymore.

Turning it off and on again, i could re-enable it, but had to select the midi ports again.
But this kept happening again and again.

Any ideas what I can look for to get that fixed?

Let me know if and which information I could provide to find answers and solutions…

you’re going to want to specify what version of Ardour you are using, and if you downloaded from the Ardour team or the ubuntu repos. Right off the bat, the latter might not work as well and you might not get relevant support as the team here only officially supports their own package.
In the meantime, launch Ardour from the terminal so that we can see if there are errors being printed that might give us a clue as to what’s going on. The Push 2 should be working fine with Linux at this point…

also, if you check the portion of this page titles “Connecting the Push 2” it looks like you may have to make sure you are in the audio group. Have you done that yet?

thank you - you’re right, I just wrote “subscription version” but not the actual number, added that :wink:

And yes I did everything that’s there in the manual. I guess otherwise it would not work at all, but it actually works for a while and then at some point stops…

I also tried the idea of running Ardour on the console, but while trying to enable push, I was surprised to see only one Push Midi Port despite yesterday there were 2, then I looked at Jack midi ports, there they had strange names, different from yesterday.