Problem with Midi Learn

First of all: i’m new here in the forum, so let me say “hello folks” ! :slight_smile:
i’m pretty new to ardour, but learned a lot of stuff, although i still have some issues, i can’t find a solution for. one of these is, how to get midi learn to work.
i use ardour 5.8 on linux mint 19.2 with alsa to jack midi bridge for an m-audio axiom air mini 32 keyboard. i can see the a2j inputs and outputs in ardour and they do work, when i directly choose them as input for a midi channel for example. but i need to control faders, mute and solo buttons etc., so i activated generic mid in the preferences, chose my axiom keyboard as input device and activated feedback. but when i use the ctrl / middle-click for a fader of a track, nothing happens. i tried a thousend times, changed settings, connected generic midi control to the track, but midi learn won’t work, the message “operate control now” won’t appear. what am i missing? please help and thanks in advance!

Optimal solution:

1. Get ardour 5.12. Version 5.8 is not a lot older, but there’s no reason to be using anything other than 5.12 (which is itself a couple of years old because of the time we’ve taken working on 6.0)

2. Stop using JACK and just use Ardour’s own ALSA audio/MIDI backend

3. It should just work. Let us know if it doesn’t.

hello paul, thank you for your quick reply. :slight_smile:

1. the version i use came with my linux mint distro, but yes, i want 5.12 to get, but i need to know, if midi control work for me, as that is a very essential feature for a smooth workflow.