Plugins to improve poor quality pre-recorded audio?

Hi,

I am running an Internet radio station, Rural Catholic Radio, using a lot of pre-recorded audio.

One of the problems that I continually face is the poor quality of the source material. In many cases, the audio was not recorded professionally and suffers from ‘metallic-tunnel’ sound (that’s the best way of describing it), transient interference (high-pitched whistling, or hiss), or low-pitched rumble, or poor bass.

Now that I have our New Season up-and-running, I would like to redo some of the worst offenders. Unfortunately, I have little experience with plug-ins and would appreciate advice of which ones might be useful for correcting the worst offenders. Any suggestions?

I realize, that for the most part, little can be done to improve poor-quality vocals, but I’m hoping …

Thanks & hoping,
booniesboy

What can be done to fix the various problems depends very much on the ‘context’ it appears in - e.g. you can use a good quality EQ to correct for poor bass or remove rumble (and even to reduce hiss or whistling if you can tune in to the pitch it is happening at) but you will always affect some of the audio in the process. This may matter less for example on a voice only recording (if the focus is mainly on intelligibility) than it would for music - where you might affect the balance of the mix undesirably.
As for the ‘metallic tunnel’ sound - that seems like it could be bad room accoustics where the original recording was made (e.g. some kind of harsh echo / reverb from the walls) and there is no such thing as a plugin that can remove or produce ‘anti-reverb’ to compensate. (Which is why so much attention is paid to creating a good ‘neutral’ recording - you can add as much reverb / accoustic effects as you like later, but you cannot remove them if they are already in the recording)

Thanks linuxdsp,