Plugin selection dialog, Side Chains?

Hello folks,

let me introduce myself with a few words as I’m new to this forum: I’m a student from southern Germany and I’m playing Bass in a blues combo. Furthermore I have strong interests in synthesizers. (I do own and play some, and I play piano as well.) I’m planning to do a bit more of that electronic stuff and currently I’m saving some money for a real sound card. Ardour is my recording software of choice, currently on Gentoo Linux.

OK now back on topic, the plugin selection dialog in my version of Ardour (Gentoo… sleepy folks, so this is version < 1) isn’t very nice to work with. My suggestions:

• Option to filter away plugins that do not have the appropriate number of inputs/outputs to fit the required plugin slot
  • Name filter (as suggested here earlier)
  • List of personal favourites! (I'm using only a few of all those plugins I have regularly so I'd like to have them available quickly.)
  • Furthermore, what about some mechanism to use plugins with control inputs like the compressor
    with side chain. (SC2, I believe) … currently this seems unusable as the number of inputs doesn’t fit. Of course it needs some other input/channel in the side chain. There is also a vocoder that would required this. I don’t have a concrete idea on how to do present this in a nice way to the user but it would be a great feature.

So these are a few suggestions.

Thanks to all people involved in the development. Good job!

DrNI

Estudis Sapista

Hi! good ideas for the plugins list.